Anything Goes

To be honest, I have known Linux for a quit while but never consider to try it. Maybe because I am too comfortable playing with Windows which I’ve been using for more than 9 years. Also, I’ve heard plenty of drawbacks for using Linux distribution especially regarding software compatibility. But all of that changed about a week ago. I can no longer feel comfortable using Windows since my computer kept crashing for no reason. I tried reinstalling Windows but it didn’t solve the problem. I scanned all drives for viruses but there was no virus found. I also considered disk defragmenter  to defragment my disk drives but I just wasted my time with no solution. All of this is enough for me to give the Free OS a try.

Ubuntu was my first choice. It’s user friendly, stable and the great support is what I really need the most since I am newbie. Here, I will share you my experience for Using Linux, Ubuntu 10.04 LL in this case.

The First thing I notice about Ubuntu is that it loads faster than Windows, the start up I mean. It takes about 15 seconds to get it ready which is fast enough compared to my old OS. The interface is beautiful, clean and it’s different than Windows so it looks nice. Although I am still not used to the minimize-restore-close buttons that is placed on the top left corner rather than top right corner.

Linux is very secure. Is that true? yeah, I can say that. I have no antivirus installed on my PC and yet my computer is still fine and blazing fast. I understand that majority of PC users are running Windows so much more viruses are made for Windows rather than for Linux. But that’s just one of the reasons why Linux is more secure than Windows. There are plenty of other reasons but I am not gonna discuss it here.

There’s a time when I need to use my wireless modem to connect to the internet. As you might guess, driver is not provided for Linux user. I have to google around to find the driver myself. The installation is not easy either. I guess this is one of the big let-downs I mentioned earlier, software compatibility.

How about installing software? Actually this part is my favorite. I really like installing new software in Linux . More specifically installing trough terminal.  I think as a former Windows user, terminal is just different. You get different feeling, it’s like you’re a computer expert or something.

Since Linux is built with networking in mind, problem of connection is not something I am gonna be worried about.

OK, there are a lot of things I like about Linux, Ubuntu specifically. The things I share here are just the general stuff. Despite the compatibility issue which is still haunting me sometimes, I can say that Linux is a great Operating System and I am gonna continue to use it.

Leave a comment